## The Dame Annabelle Rankin Award



## **Press Release**

The Children's Book Council of Australia Qld Branch is calling for nominations for The Dame Annabelle Rankin Award for Distinguished Services to Children's Literature in Queensland. This is a biennial award established in 2004 as a celebration of 50 years of the Children's Book Council of Australia in Queensland. The recipient will have made a contribution primarily in Queensland, but services nationally and internationally are also considered.

Dame Annabelle Rankin was an Australian stateswoman, born in Brisbane. She became the first Queensland woman to enter federal politics, as a senator for the state in 1946, and the first woman whip in the British Commonwealth, serving as opposition whip (1947-9) and government whip (1951-66). She was also the first Australian woman to be appointed as a federal Minister, holding the housing portfolio (1966-71), and Australia's first woman head of a diplomatic mission as High Commissioner to New Zealand (1971-4). She was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for her political and public service in 1957.

Dame Annabelle Rankin was one of the first to be given Life Member status of the Queensland Branch of Children's Book Council of Australia in 1977 following her service to the branch as a President for 10 years from 1961-1971 and as a Patron.

## Eligibility

- The recipient shall be a person who has made a significant contribution to children's literature in Queensland.
- Where a joint or group nomination is more appropriate, a joint or group nomination may be made.
- Whilst there is no restriction on the types of contribution made, recipients' contributions must encompass more than their profession or occupation.
- No person may receive the Award more than once.
- Candidates need not be members of the CBCA.

## **Guidelines for submissions**

- No more than two A4 pages. (Calibri, font size 11, single spaced)
- Nominations close by the end of June biennially.
- Nominations should be made on the official nomination form.
- Send nominations by email to qld@cbca.org.au

**Previous winners** have been 2004 Lyn Linning, 2005 Jill Morris, 2006 Kerry Mallan, 2007 David Cox, 2009 Jenny Stubbs, 2011 Robyn Sheehan-Bright, 2013 Judith Russell, 2016 Leonie Tyle 2018 James Moloney 2020 Fiona Stager.