

Picture Book of the Year

Entries in this category should be outstanding books of the Picture Book genre in which the author and illustrator achieve artistic and literary unity or, in wordless picture books, where the story, theme or concept is unified through illustrations. Ages 0-18 years.

Note: some of these books may be for mature readers.

Illustrator	Author	Titlo		Publisher
Illustrator	Author	Title	ISBN	Publisher
Arielle Li	Debra Tidball	Anchored	9781922539496	EK Books an imprint of Exisle Publishing
Aura Parker		Bowerbird Blues	9781760269609	Scholastic Australia
Mark & Heather Jackson	Julia Lawrinson	City of Light	9781742036304	Wild Dog Books
Jeannie Baker		Desert Jungle	9781406387872	Walker Books Australia
Tania McCartney		Dorrie	9781460760109	HarperCollins Publishers
Peter Cheong		Every Night at Midnight	9781922992383	Affirm Press
Sophie Beer	Mel Amon	Good Morning, My Deer!	9781761380358	Scribble Kid's Books an imprint of Scribe Publications
Sophie Blackall		If I Was a Horse	9780734422712	Lothian Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Australia
Niña Nill	Ali Rutstein	Ladybirds Do Not Go to Day Care	9781761213113	Bright Light an imprint of Hardie Grant Children's Publishing
Trace Balla		Leaf-light	9781760526207	A & U Children an imprint of Allen & Unwin
Jennifer Goldsmith	Chanelle Gosper	Little Treasure	9780734421494	Lothian Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Australia
Luisa Gioffre-Suzuki	Kaye Baillie	Mizuto and the Wind	9781922858023	MidnightSun Publishing
Mateja Jager	Margrete Lamond	Paper-flower Girl	9780645352399	Dirt Lane Press
Bruce Whatley	Jackie French	Plague	9781743834824	Scholastic Australia
Michelle Conn	Charlie Archbold	Raised by Moths	9781922858184	MidnightSun Publishing
Lorena Carrington	Sophie Masson	Satin	9781922858016	MidnightSun Publishing
Michelle Pereira	Sandhya Parappukkaran	Stay for Dinner	9781761211966	Bright Light an imprint of Hardie Grant Children's Publishing
Ronojoy Ghosh & Niharika Hukku	Kate Temple & Jol Temple	That Bird Has Arms	9781761210310	Little Hare an imprint of Hardie Grant Children's Publishing

The CBCA Book of the Year Awards Shortlist will be announced online at Noon AEDT on Tuesday, 19 March 2024 cbca.org.au/shortlist-2024



2024 CBCA Book of the Year Awards Notables List

Illustrator	Author	Title	ISBN	Publisher
Eloise Short	Jodie McLeod	The Black Cockatoo With One Feather Blue	9780646874708	Wollemi Press
Bob Graham		The Concrete Garden	9781529512649	Walker Books Australia
Briony Stewart	Cassy Polimeni	The Garden at the End of the World	9780702265693	University of Queensland Press
Jennifer Falkner	Apsara Baldovino	The Lucky Shack	9781922033154	Working Title Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Kelly Canby		Timeless	9781760992323	Fremantle Press
Anna Read	Martine Murray	World	9780645039528	Parachute Press
Stephen Michael King	Josh Pyke	Your Head's Not the Place to Store Problems	9781761293023	Scholastic Australia

The CBCA Awards Foundation Proudly Funding Prizes for the CBCA Book of the Year Awards

Benefactors Allen & Unwin CBCA NSW Branch Inc Laurie Copping OAM Margaret Hamilton AM Maurice Saxby AM Scholastic Australia Thyne Reid Trust No. 1

Major Donors

Australia Post • Jill B Bruce • Sandy Campbell • CBCA ACT Branch • CBCA SA Branch • CBCA VIC Branch • CBCA WA Branch • Era Publications • Five Mile Press • Libby Gleeson AM • Bob Graham • Hachette Children's Books • Hardie Grant Egmont • HarperCollins Publishers • Ipswich District Teacher-Librarians' Network • The James N Kirby Foundation • Kinross-Wolaroi School • Koala Books • Library Board of Queensland • Dr Robin Moncrieff Morrow AM • Angela Namoi • Northern Territory Government • Parents & Boys of Sydney Grammar Edgecliff Prep School • Penguin Books • Random House • Emily Rodda (Jennifer Rowe) • Gillian Rubinstein • SA Dept of the Arts & Cultural Development • Gail Spiers • Myrtle Spiers • Cathie Tasker • University of Queensland Press • Julie Vivas • Walker Books • Margaret Wild • Sue Williams •

In memoriam

Jean Chapman • Max Fatchen • Beryl Moncrieff Matthews • Christobel Mattingley • Jill Midolo • Narelle Oliver • Jan Ormerod • Eve Pownall • Marion E Robertson • Gregory Rogers • Sebastian Walker • Cassandra Weddell • Maisie Williams, Garah, NSW

Donations to the CBCA Awards Foundation are tax deductible and can be sent to:

PO Box 1163, Fyshwick ACT 2609. (Feb 2024)

http://www.awardsfoundation.org.au/

The CBCA Book of the Year Awards Shortlist will be announced online at Noon AEDT on Tuesday, 19 March 2024 cbca.org.au/shortlist-2024